You are here

City Council

 

Information About Elected Officials

St. Charles has an Aldermanic-City form of government, which consists of 10 Aldermen, a Mayor and a City Administrator. The Aldermen and Mayor are elected officials who serve four-year terms on the City Council. The City of St. Charles is divided into five wards. Two Aldermen from each ward are elected to represent their ward on the City Council and serve staggered terms. The City Clerk and City Treasurer are elected at large.

The City Council is responsible for establishing policy, passing ordinances, adopting the budget, and appointing the City Administrator and department directors. Other offices and vacancies are filled by appointment by the Mayor, with the advice and consent of the City Council.

Members of the City Council receive compensation for their service but do not have offices or regular office hours at City Hall. Their contact information is listed below. Mail should be directed to their attention at the City, 2 E. Main Street, St. Charles, IL 60174.

The City of St. Charles is a home rule municipality.

Ward mapWard 2 map Ward 5 map Ward 4 map Ward 3 map Ward 1 map

Ward Maps

Click on the Ward to download the map for that Ward, or view a map of all wards.

Default meeting location: 
Council Chambers, City Hall
2 East Main Street
St Charles, IL 60174
Meeting frequency: 
First and third Monday of every month at 7 p.m. in the City Council Chambers

Member Term

Member Term: 
4 years

Clerk and Treasurer

Contact Email Term Expires
Charles Amenta Charles Amenta camenta@stcharlesil.gov 2021
Jo Krieger City Treasurer jkrieger@stcharlesil.gov 2021

Members

Contact Email Term Expires
Dan Stellato Alderman Ward 1 (630) 377-3723 dstellato@stcharlesil.gov 2023
Ronald Silkaitis Alderman Ward 1 (630) 584-1904 rsilkaitis@stcharlesil.gov 2021
Rita Anne Payleitner Alderman Ward 2 (630) 377-7530 rpayleitner@stcharlesil.gov 2023
Arthur J Lemke Alderman Ward 2 (630) 513-1658 alemke@stcharlesil.gov 2021
Todd Bancroft Alderman Ward 3 (630) 443-7974 tbancroft@stcharlesil.gov 2023
William Turner Alderman Ward 3 (630) 650-0839 wturner@stcharlesil.gov 2021
Alderman Lora Vitek Lora Vitek Alderman Ward 4 (630) 826-9268 lvitek@stcharlesil.gov 2021
Alderman David Pietryla David A. Pietryla Alderman Ward 4 (630) 803-8534 dpietryla@stcharlesil.gov 2023
Ed Bessner Alderman Ward 5 (630) 587-0580 ebessner@stcharlesil.gov 2023
Maureen Lewis Alderman Ward 5 (630) 584-4622 mlewis@stcharlesil.gov 2021

Key Documents

City Contacts

Documents on this site

Free viewers are required for some documents on this site. They can be downloaded by clicking on the icons below.

Get Adobe Reader Image